Bum On Chair, Bum On Chair… Omm!!

Booger decided to join me on my meditation this moring. He does that sometimes. Always a TREAT! =]

Image

So I’ve been meditation since January 9th, 2012. I was by chance introduced to this meditation teacher Peter Vroom the week before the year 2011 was over. A few of the people that work in my store are part of his “Meditation Community” and decided to invite him to the store and talk to a group of us about the benefits of daily meditation. I just so happened to be part of that random small group of interested people. And I am so glad for it. Meditation has rocked my world in such an awesome way. From the moment Peter started talking I knew I wanted to be a part of this. I signed up, along with three other people to be part of his meditation practice. We came in at 8:00AM on January 9th and joined him as he practice an initiation ritual where we brought offerings to this beautiful altar with candles and the photo of this ancient man who according to Peter was the one who started this particular type of meditation practice centuries ago. Then we went on, one by one and privately sat with Peter in a quiet room for him to give us our “Mantra”. Every person gets their own “Mantra”. Which they aren’t allow to share with anybody, nor use outside of meditation. Just out of respect to your practice. We then went on to sit down with Peter and listen to him share the history of this meditation practice and his own life experiences.

I must say, meditation has changed my life in ways I never expected. I felt the benefits and the difference in myself from the very day. It’s life changing. And I recommended to everybody. I don’t know how I did not find this sooner. But I guess, its because it was supposed to find me. And it did. Perfect timing and all. 

I meditate twice a day, for 20 minutes. First practice is as soon as I wake up. Before washing my face, before having breakfast. My alarm goes off. I stretch, grunt and moan, kick and flip, bitch and trip. Peter’s voice pops in my head saying “Bum on chair, bum on chair”. I get my bum off my bed, wabble to my living room and perch on a corner of my couch and relax. 

Namaste! 

=]

Leave a Reply

